DVD Review…..Fright Night (the remake)

I decided it would be fun to review older movies also.  I’m thinking of having a DVD Review for films that are fairly recent, and an Oldie but Goodie review for films made more than 10 years ago, and which I may or may not have seen.  So look forward to those! Any suggestions just hit me up 🙂

 

So I am typically very anti-remake.  I hate the thought of it, what’s wrong with the original? Can’t you come up with your own material yada yada yada.  I hate to be one of “those people” but I typically jump on the hate wagon when a remake is announced without giving it a try.  Halloween started it to be honest.  Huge Carpenter fan, heck even a huge Zombie fan.  But Halloween II pissed me off and I blame that shit-fest for my remake hatred.  And the jerks that wanted to re-do Suspiria…leave that alone!!!

I just finished watching this (found out David Tennant was in it last night, hence me watching it tonight…I ❤ him lots).  It was shockingly good.  I’m not the biggest Colin Farrel fan, and to be honest I don’t have a reason not to be, he hasn’t really done anything to deserve my dislike…..oh yeah Phone Booth, but besides that he is a good actor.  Oh yeah, Alexander…..and Daredevil.  Okay so besides THAT he is a good actor and did an amaaaazing job as Jerry, the vamp next door.  This is how remakes should be.  It wasn’t a carbon copy, the director and writers tossed in their own flavour, and made a distinctly different film.  The cast was awesome and did a great job in each of their roles.  Did I mention Chris Sarandon has a cameo???? That pretty much sealed the deal for me.

David Tennant was amazing, as usual.  Plus he goes shirtless and wears eye liner so that was worth the watch alone, who would have known I was such a perve? But seriously folks a really really fun watch, and I’m happy I finally got around to it.

P.S I am sorry I hated on you Mr.Farrel, you are a good actor.  The first time I ever saw you in a film was Tigerland and you rocked.  So I retract my comments and will from now on will no longer throw you in the crap actor bin.  I can’t think of many actors that haven’t made a few bad films, or had a few bad roles.

One thought on “DVD Review…..Fright Night (the remake)

  1. Pingback: Is Colin Farrell the remake king? - The Queen of Scream

Leave a comment